Jesus Advocates for Public Service

I read the most interesting bible passage yesterday.  Mark 10:35-42 is subtitled in the NLT version as “Jesus Teaches about Serving Others”.  The setting is one of many astonishing exchanges between Jesus and his disciples where the disciples have to be set straight.  In verse 37, James & John ask “When you sit on your glorious throne, we want to sit in places of honor next to you, one on your right and the other on your left”.  Jesus basically told them that God is in charge of who sits where and in what places in His kingdom.

Classic disciple behavior.  But what I found really interesting was in verse 45 when Jesus tells the disciples, “For even the Son of Man came not to be served, but to serve others and to give his life as a ransom for many”.  The Life Application Bible interprets this statement by saying that “true greatness comes in serving others.”

I have volunteered time with many organizations over the years, and have found great pleasure in doing so.  But now that I am currently unemployed, I felt that it was more important than ever to serve.  I took on two new volunteer projects and believe I will be blessed for it.  Now I didn’t take on these projects because I thought I was going to get something in return, but the law of the universe makes this so.  It’s funny, each time I told my mother about doing these volunteer projects since I’ve been out of work, she responds by saying “are you going to get paid for that?”  And I say, “no mom, it’s volunteer work”.  And not taking away anything from my mother, she’s just concerned about how I’m going to make it (and I’m concerned too), but I just believe that’s what faith is all about.  Helping others not when it’s convenient or easy, but when your own help is challenged.  Doing something for free even when you have no money coming in.  I will always commit a portion of my talents to public service, whether it be to volunteer projects or within nonprofit organizations, because Jesus advocated for it.  So it must be the right thing to do.

Reference

Life Application Study Bible (2004).  Tyndale House Publishers:  IL.


One thought on “Jesus Advocates for Public Service

  1. Praise God! I believe you are doing the right thing, and God will bless you for it. My Sunday School class is talking about volunteering at lunch time on Thanksgiving Day to serve food at a homeless shelter.

    I didn’t realize it until reading this post that I have been serving in that way as well, except I am a computer tech. I work on other people’s computers in my spare time, but decided not to charge them for removing viruses. I felt like local companies were charging an outrageous amount, so I decided I would not charge them. I never thought of it as serving others until I read your post! Thanks for writing this! I will pray that God will bless you for what you are doing. You are being the hands and feet of Jesus to others!

Leave a Reply

