Dear 2009, A Letter to Last Year

Dear 2009,

Don’t get me wrong, it was nice to see you.  I was grateful to have been alive while you were in my life.  But for some reason, you were not very kind to me.  I know that it was a challenge, or a kind of test of my ever enduring strength.  I had you pegged right away, right from the beginning.  You tried everything you could to beat me down, tear me apart, leave me feeling alone and isolated.  And sometimes I would succumb to your treacherous lies.  But guess what 2009, I came out on the other side.

While you were putting me down and telling me to “tone it down”, I had others who were telling me to express myself and laugh as loud as I wanted to.  I had a host of friends that supported me even when you tried to tell me that I was all alone.  I rediscovered my creative side, enhanced my sensuality, and even took a few chances, which you couldn’t stand.

You tried to rip me apart with depression and anger.  But I have a mom and two nieces to live for.  And a big cat that kept a smile on my face.

When I stepped out on faith, you tried all you could to break me.  Doing little things to try to set me back; right up until your very last day.  It was quite entertaining to watch you work.  But I kept looking beyond what you had for me on to bigger and better things.

After all that I’ve been through, (ask 1990, 1995 and 2003) did you really think you could break me, 2009?  That’s a laugh.  Well I’m still here.  I met 2010 yesterday and it seemed pretty nice.  2010 said, “I’m glad you’re here, we’ve got a lot of work to do.”  And I said, “I’m glad too.  2009 told me to tell you that this is a special one.  Let’s get to work.”

Dedicated to all those that can admit that 2009 was a crappy year, but that realize their experiences with “2009” have made them stronger…


One thought on “Dear 2009, A Letter to Last Year

Leave a Reply

