Perfect is not perfect

There is no such thing as perfection. Perfectionism and the belief in a “perfect” life is an illusion that I have fixed in my mind for far too long. It’s time to let that go. Even those that appear perfect are not perfect. That is the reality. The perfect picture that is presented outwardly is an illusion. Sometimes it’s a beautiful illusion, but an illusion nonetheless.

The only thing that is perfect is God’s will. And the reality of that perfect will are the imperfections of His children.

There are two aspects of this concept. The first is thinking that others have perfect lives and the second is thinking that I have to be perfect. There is this ridiculous notion I had that everyone else, or certain selected people led perfect lives. This came from the belief that no one else could possibly be living like me. It also comes from me falling for the “great shows” that people present externally. In the past, I isolated myself a lot because who could possibly understand what I was going through or who would even want to spend time with me? I can see how this was something I began to internalize. It made me believe that I had to be perfect for others to like me and for acceptance in everything.


3 thoughts on “Perfect is not perfect

Leave a Reply

