Sleepy Saturday – A Yoga Inspired Affirmation for Loneliness

Happy Sleepy Saturday everyone! I hope you get a chance to sleep in today or at least get to relax.

One of the consequences of abandonment is loneliness. With that being said, I’d like to share with you a simple affirmation technique that has helped me with the overwhelming feelings of loneliness that I often feel. I recently read about this technique in a book called Yoga for Depression: A compassionate guide to relieve suffering through Yoga by Amy Weintraub (2004). Weintraub writes that  “[this affirmation practice] soothes my heart and cultivates a feeling of gratitude. And gratitude, in my experience, lightens the heart and eases me into my day.”

This can be practiced in bed before you go to sleep, then again in the morning before you rise:

  1. As you inhale, say to yourself, “Thou art [You are] with me.
  2. As you exhale, repeat to yourself, “Thank you.”
  3. Repeat for a minimum of three times in a row.
  4. **The phrase on the inhale can be substituted with “I am not alone” if you are not a believer in a Higher Power.

I really found this to be one of the most simple, practical ways to incorporate gratitude and meditation in my day…as well as a reminder that although I may be lonely, I am never alone.

Namaste!


Leave a Reply

