Gratitude Break – The Beauty of Connection

Today I am going to take a break on the posting. My last two substantive posts have been emotionally draining, yet freeing for me. The story about my last relationship was very hard for me to tell and even more difficult for me to be so honest about. I am so appreciative of the wonderful comments I have received and the connections I have made through writing it. It makes me know that I did the right thing by telling the story. I did the right thing for me…which is part of taking care of myself. Tomorrow, as promised, I will post on the topic of “Pet Abandonment.”

Until then, I will leave you with one of my favorite quotes from one of my favorite scholars about the beauty of connection (yeah, I had to get academic on you):

“From [these] intimate attachments a person draws his strength and enjoyment of life and, through what he contributes, he gives strength and enjoyment to others. These are matters about which current science and traditional wisdom are at one.” -John Bowlby

Have a great Tuesday!

Cheers! 🙂


2 thoughts on “Gratitude Break – The Beauty of Connection

  1. This reminds me of a wonderful book I picked up by chance in the second hand section of our English bookshop, a wonderful little gem of a book called ‘Making the Connections’ by Elke Babicki. If you come across it, have a read, I found things started connecting immediately after reading it, just another level of awareness awakening and it has the most amazing passages about water and the powerful effect of positive emotions on water, which apparently has been scientifically proven.

    The day after I read this passage I went with 2 friends to the sea and when we first saw it, we had to stop and the three of all said ‘Wow’ at the same time because it was REALLY sparkling, and this is what I had read, positive thoughts create sparkles in water and I just thought, wow there are a lot of people facing the sea today and appreciating its beauty. The water was a bit cold for my two freinds, but after that revelation, I said I must immerse myself in it and did so two or three times. I can still feel the effect of that wonderful day when I think of it and my friend gave me a diary for Christmas with that sparkling photo on the cover, so now I see those reminders every single day.

    Thank you for sharing your stories and your healing, I wish you many moments of bliss in your future.

Leave a Reply

