Laugh, Laugh, Laugh

Those of you who know me personally know that I have one of those loud laughs. When things are funny to me, I have to let it out. Holding it in gives me the reverse effect and I get sad. You either love it or you hate it. When I worked in “corporate America,” you have no idea how many people have told me to “keep it down” or how many supervisors have “called me into the office for a chat” because of my loud laugh. I have found that the people that love my laugh find it infectious…when I laugh, they laugh. The people that hate my laugh and love to tell me shhhhhh…are just unhappy people that could probably use a lesson in letting go…or a lesson from me in how to have a good, true, rambunctious belly laugh.

I just read this quote that inspired this post,

Laughter takes the pressure off and lightens the load. We can actually feel our body and our chemistry change when the corners of the mouth turn upward toward the heavens in a smile.

Excerpt from “Week 14 – Laughter” from the book 52 Weeks of Conscious Contact: Meditations for Connecting with God, Self, and Others by Melody Beattie (2003).

So laugh, laugh, laugh. It’s music to God’s ears.

20120402-104334.jpg


12 thoughts on “Laugh, Laugh, Laugh

  1. i’d probably love your laughter :). Laughing is healing and shakes off any other unpleasant emotions….so keep on laughing! 😀

  2. i have a similar laugh & had similar experiences whilst slogging away on the rat race. i’m also always shooshed in cinemas. it feels good to laugh out loud, though. stiffling it would be a crime.

Leave a Reply

