Exciting News!

Ha! That was a great way to get you to open this e-mail or read this blog post. The truth is that I really have no exciting news. Other than the fact that I have made it through another day. Another day filled with emotions and feelings…filled with laughter and sadness…filled with life. What I’ve realized is that a lot of people do not get excited about the downtime. There is really nothing special about that time “in-between.”

Or is there??

You have probably guessed that I have issues with “downtime.” If there isn’t something to worry about, obsess over, or struggle through, I don’t feel fully alive. I have realized that the downtime doesn’t necessarily come in the absence of the challenges. The downtime comes when I start to feel comfortable with my worries, obsessions, and struggles. Instead of fighting these things all the time, they become my friends. As I confront them, they become more manageable.

But as a society, I’m not sure that we celebrate “the process” or “the journey.” We celebrate the happy ending or the ultimate “come to Jesus moment” where we say Aha! and we think we have it all figured out.

That’s great for some people. But I’m finding that each of my “Aha moments” either trump one another or build on the other. I never have the ultimate “burning bush” moment where I understand it all. Life is a day by day, hour by hour, and sometimes minute by minute emotional challenge for me. It’s just the way it is. It gets easier as time goes on and I work on my issues, but the issues are a part of what makes me who I am. And as I work on these issues, I’m loving and admiring who I am more and more each day.

If I wrote a book about my life, the ending would be…well, perhaps that’s why I’ve never sat down to write the book of my life. I really wouldn’t know how or where to end it.

What if I told you that my exciting news was that today, I woke up and was one step closer to my goal (whatever that is)?

Would you congratulate me?

Have a party for me?

Does the “in-between” time count as an achievement or an accomplishment in your eyes?

This is where having a good and loving relationships with ourselves and our Higher Power is so important. If we wait for others to validate our progress, we may be waiting forever.

We all know how far we’ve come. And we all know where we want to go (most of the time). Isn’t it time to congratulate ourselves for our persistence in the time “in-between?”

“And so I tell you, keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you.” -Luke 11:9 (NLT)


3 thoughts on “Exciting News!

  1. I agree with servingothers! It’s the dash that matters, not the from and thru date in the end. It’s all the little things, the in between the big things stuff that comprises most of our lives so make it count!

Leave a Reply

