What’s the Difference Between Eeyore & Joel Osteen?

Choosing to be positive and having a grateful attitude is going to determine how you’re going to live your life. -Joel Osteen

A conversation between Eeyore and Winnie the Pooh: “Good morning, Pooh Bear,” said Eeyore gloomily. “If it is a good morning,” he said. “Which I doubt,” said he.”Why, what’s the matter?””Nothing, Pooh Bear, nothing. We can’t all, and some of us don’t. That’s all there is to it.” “Can’t all what?” said Pooh, rubbing his nose.”Gaiety. Song-and-dance. Here we go round the mulberry bush.”

238119_hands_thumbsup

It has been awhile since I’ve written, probably about a month. I guess I should say that it has been awhile since I’ve posted a blog post because I’ve been writing and coming up with some beautiful ideas to write about…I just haven’t managed to sit down in front of the computer to create a blog post.

I’m tempted to wallow in the challenges that have caused me to neglect my blog postings over the past month, but I don’t like to think of myself as a “wallower.” I think of myself more as a journeyer who has to deal with the bad so that I can get to the good.

But I will spare you all the specific details of my challenges over the past couple of months, but just know that there have been several and as always I have been dealing with them in a zigzag kind of fashion. Sometimes I share and show my vulnerability to others; other times I will isolate and withdraw; other times I have been depressed and low; other times I have laughed with and received the support of friends; sometimes I look on the “bright side” and try to see the positive and the “big picture”; sometimes I write about it in my journal; other times I pray and mediate; other times I just haven’t cared; a few times I’ve asked for help; and many times I have been angry.

Lots of times, I have cried.238129_hands_thumbsdown

But you know what I’m realizing, as long as I’m still breathing, it’s all okay. How I handle my challenges is between me and the One who will deliver me from my challenges. And for me in my own life that means being completely honest about how shitty things can get so that I can work through the emotions and come out on the other side. This is what I do. It may not work for you.

If you think of the strategies of facing life in the midst of challenges as a spectrum (I love thinking of things as spectrums) with Eeyore being on the extremely negative side and someone like Joel Osteen being on the extremely positive side, I’m somewhere in the middle. I don’t hate on Eeyore because he tells the truth about his crappy day and losing his tail. And I love Joel Osteen because that constant positive attitude is something I strive for. But I can’t be Eeyore nor can I be Joel Osteen.

I can only be Michele. And Michele is a pretty amazing girl who happens to be facing some challenges that have caused her some difficult emotions. It’s not the first time and it will not be the last. God never promised us a perfect life or a life without troubles. The good and the seemingly bad can exist in the same space. They will eventually cancel each other out and transform into something Divine.

***

I will try and make another post prior to Christmas day, but in case I don’t, Merry Christmas to all those who believe (and even to those who don’t).

Don’t forget to follow me on Facebook: Words of Compassion, Creativity & Knowledge on FB


6 thoughts on “What’s the Difference Between Eeyore & Joel Osteen?

Leave a Reply

