I Have Been Sick…and That Sucks

Always Do Your Best. Your best is going to change from moment to moment; it will be different when you are healthy as opposed to sick. Under any circumstance, simply do your best, and you will avoid self-judgment, self-abuse and regret. -Miguel Angel Ruiz

I am just recovering from a bad cold and sinus infection. There were lots of things on my mind to write, but I couldn’t manage to make it to the computer to type it up. I really hate being 672786_tissue_boxsick. I know, I know, who likes being sick? But for a person that is already super hard on herself and extremely judgmental, when I’m sick, I’m even more hard on myself and judgmental. Lots of negative self-talk going on last week. Lots of emotional inebriation. However, I am grateful that however bad I thought things were last week, they were not as bad as they have been in the past.

I’m celebrating two years in emotional 12-step recovery this month, and its probably fitting that I had this experience of sickness and then reflection about my emotional and spiritual journey. It’s no secret as to the 12 step fellowships that I belong, Codependents Anonymous and Adult Children of Alcoholics. I have no shame about this. These programs have changed my life in so many ways. They have opened my heart up to receive so much love and healing. They have given me so much better perspective for my past and hope for my future. Working these programs has been tricky though. When you are recovering from a substance, you stay away from that substance. But how in the world do you measure emotional recovery? I’m not saying one is easier than the other, but I think that in both cases, you just have to keep showing up…or in recovery language: keep coming back.

There is still so much I don’t understand about my life, but the great thing about being in 12 step recovery is that I know I have a life. That I’m not just some feather floating in the wind. That I belong here and have a purpose here. Whatever that purpose may be.

1217386_architecture_through_my_eyes

I may never understand everything fully. But I know there is a Higher Power who Loves me and understands it all.

12 Step recovery has also taught me that it’s okay to have days when you’re sick and can’t do everything. It’s okay to take care of myself. I still need practice on not judging myself and being hard on myself, but 12 step has also taught me “progress not perfection.”

Nothing is perfect, not even recovery. There are lots of rules and guidelines; however, how we heal is ultimately up to us. There are people and trusted counselors and friends that can give us advice along the way, but our emotional recovery is all about us and what we feel is right. We must trust ourselves in this process.


10 thoughts on “I Have Been Sick…and That Sucks

  1. Tis the season for the sickness…sigh. My hubby has had a couple bouts with it recently. Glad your feeling stronger and yes, when we are physically weak it seems like the mental part takes advantage of our vulnerability! GRRR. For a time I attended AA meetings and it’s amazing how 12 steps and talking to and listening to so many others going through similiar stuff could help! Good for you!

  2. I think it is amazing Michele how your posts often link uncannily with my work. I have just written a poem about Sobriety and the 12 step programme used by AA. I’m not ready to share it yet but I will soon. I want to know if you have looked at NLP at all – I think it could be of some benefit to you. Hope you are feeling much better

Leave a Reply

