Behold His Mighty Hand! It’s Just What We Do

1295779_exodusMy favorite movie of all time is Cecil B. DeMille’s version of The Ten Commandments (1956). Specifically, my favorite part of this movie is the scene where Moses parts the Red Sea. I still get chills when I watch this scene. I think I know it by heart. Moses (Charlton Heston) extends his staff over the waters and stretches out his arms in exaltation as if he is ready to receive a great miracle from the Lord as he says,

“Stand back and see the salvation of the Lord…Behold His Mighty Hand!”

The sea miraculously splits in half while the Israelites stand in awe and Pharaoh’s army looks on in amazement. The Israelites then move through the middle of the waters in fear and giving thanks to the Lord for freedom.

The graphics in this film were most likely the most advanced for that time, but I’m still amazed every time I see it.

Watching this movie is what I do…and what my family does around Easter. I’m sure that this is a family tradition for many. The movie used to air on Easter Sunday, but for the past several years, it comes on the day before Easter. And this is fine with me. I usually dye my Easter eggs and make some kind of dessert while its on. My mom usually naps to it. We know the movie by heart anyway. Which leads me to wonder, is it more about the movie, or just the sense of tradition??

Could be a little of both.

Regardless, it’s just what we do at Easter time. And no matter if I’m making an Easter delicacy, or if my mom is snoring, we both stop whatever we are doing to watch that magical scene…

Behold His Mighty Hand!!

Happy Easter…


Leave a Reply

