Cat and Mouse

Photo by Hob
Photo by Hob

“Remember, the two-legged and the four-legged are made by the same creator. We are relatives.” -Cloud Dancing (from Dr. Quinn Medicine Woman)

“No creature is undeserving of love. God reminds us of that.” –Today’s Gift from Hazelden

It had been a long week. For various reasons, I was feeling especially lonely and disconnected. That’s kind of how the holidays have been for me. In and out of gratitude, comparison, joy, depression, back again to thankfulness, reflection, and back to hopelessness. Earlier in the week, I had spent time with my best friend, lost hope in what I thought was a promising romance, and learned of an upcoming publication success. The ups and downs of life. Nothing new. I came home Friday night, wanting to share my disappointments and successes with someone in my house. But there were more pressing issues that the people in my house had to share with me. I listened. I responded. I reacted. I worked: took out the garbage, started the car, brought water to my mom, washed the dishes, unstopped the toilet, swept the kitchen, fed the cat. I was needed. I started to wonder, if I didn’t come home, would anyone really miss me? Perhaps if the dishes started piling up. I don’t know. I wanted to run away. Perhaps starting over in another town would be good.

Okay, with the pity party over, I basically felt unappreciated, and codependently unable to ask for what needed.

Of course the people who live with you are supposed to know what you need!

So Saturday, I slept. All day. My all day slumber was probably 50% depression, 30% exhaustion, 10% disappointment, and 10% guilt and shame for feeling the depression, exhaustion, and disappointment. Got up…ate…slept some more. I was checking out. Every time I felt a hint of emotional pain, I would turn over and sleep some more. It’s not the most evolved way of dealing with feelings, but it’s all I had yesterday. It was the best I could do. Toward the end of the evening, I emerged for a bit and spent time with my family…who were still quite self-focused. I watched a movie and then made a decision to not do this same thing again today. Sunday, I would get up, get dressed and go to church. Yes. Having somewhere to go will help.

That’s where the funny part comes in…

I woke up early this morning feeling the same sadness and hopelessness that I felt yesterday. I said, forget it. Maybe I need just one more day of slumber. It’s freezing outside anyway. I’m just going to turn over and go back to sleep.

The moment I turned over, there was my cat, Samson, on my bed, looking intently at something by his paw. He kept poking and poking at it. I thought it was a bug. But then, I saw the four legs…then the little tail…

It was a mouse!!

A dead mouse. The cold temperatures in Chicago have led those little mousey guys into our warm home. We have an old house and there are lots of cracks and crevices that those little guys sneak through. And my 10 year old cat, being the great mouser he is, caught that little guy, and brought him to his mama.

Disgusting yes. But two things happened here. Be careful what you wish for. Just a few days earlier, I had felt unappreciated. Here, my cat was showing me that not only did he appreciate me, that he loved me enough to bring me his prey to share.

The other thing that happened here was that I was so freaked out and disgusted by this dead mouse in my bed, that I was fully awake and no longer going to turn over and drown in my sorrows. If I was going to cry it out, I was going to cry it out among others. In church community. So I went to church, then took myself to breakfast. And then on to one of my favorite places…as I write this…I am at the library.

My problems unsolved, still feeling rather lonely, but among the living. Fulfilling my purpose through writing these words.

And it humbles me to think that God used two 4-legged creatures to communicate His message to me today:

You are Loved

and

Get your butt up and show that Love to others.

And so it is.


5 thoughts on “Cat and Mouse

  1. Oh my gosh I LOVED this post! Wonderful and so wonderfully expressed. I felt as though you were expressing the emotional ride my week or day can take me on. Just this morning I had the opportunity to trust God for something and I felt that He was leading me & strengthening my faith to trust & have confidence while He worked. And lo & behold, it seems to be working out! Praise God. And then just as we came in from a pleasant evening, a phone call came that sent me crashing down into a feeling of helplessness and in my fear I was not reacting in the most Christian of manner! So here I am, lying in bed just before turning out the light, reading your post & wishing I could sleep all day tomorrow. Then again, I also have a sense that God is telling me, no, you can walk through this & if you press in & persevere in faith, you will move in victory. Amen.

    Thank you for your honesty & excellent illustration of life, struggles & the grace of God.

    1. Greetings! Thank you so much for stopping by, for reading, and for your lovely comment. 🙂 I’m always grateful for Christians who can honestly admit their imperfections…realizing that it’s only through God’s grace that we are made whole. Please keep in touch and I look forward to connecting with your blog. 🙂 -Michele

  2. Very Good Story and life lesson. Thank You! I think I’ll get up and out instead of staying in bed and sulking, because it is more desired then a dead mouse in my bed(smile).

Leave a Reply

